Family

Mom 

My mom is a brave, incredible, soft hearted and strong woman. She is first generation Taiwanese,  which means she has a Chinese accent, a cute accent… I call it my mumsy talk. Haha. When she calls my office everyone automatically knows it’s my mom on the other line, she always asks “my baby dere?” She always reference to herself in the 3rd person in English, for example when I ask her about her day she will say ” yah! Mammy had a good day, I went to eat with friends.” A very intelligent lady she is, she studies the English language in her spare time to improve her vocabulary.

My brother and I always joke about who her favourite child is. I like to think it’s me, but if you asked her she would deny it and says that before I was born, my brother was around for 11 years and he was her pride and joy, when I came along I received the same medicine.To be honest I think she loves us both the same and of course I get most the attention from her now. I’m the youngest and my brother is married and has his own family. I am very lucky to have such a strong bond with her.

My mom has accomplished so many great things in her life, she was a motivational speaker in China, in 2009 my mom studied to be a pastor and gave her soul to Christ. She was also a presenter for China TV and juggled going to baking school, all this whilst still running her own empire. Her career as a PA  and soon became her own Boss running her own company. What amazes me, is that she was always  both parents for us.

My mom was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 2012, this is when she took up painting as a hobby. It helped to relax her and keep her mind off things. This I found very surprising only because my mom has always had a very mathematical mind and has never shown any interest in art. I myself can’t draw and I did always think I inherited a lot from her. When I would call her to chat, I would ask her what she was doing for the day and she would reply ” mammy is painting today.” I honestly didn’t think much of her hobby and never thought to ask her to see… I simply thought it was a stress reliever for her. She did however, the one day send me a few images on my Wechat and when I opened it I was met with beautiful artworks, not thinking, I asked her who drew them, haha, she replied “mammy draw it.” I was so astonished! My mom is a chameleon. She is always able to do everything perfectly! 

My mom painted these delicate, colourful and magical pieces, with such depth and passion.

As I said before my mom is a strong woman and a fighter and it doesn’t end there. She did in this time under go radiation therapy and later chemotherapy. She beat cancer’s ass and was cancer free in 2015. She still carries on painting, it is her true passion.

I am so proud to call her my mom, she can do no wrong in my eyes and is the most beautiful soul. I owe my mom everything and she has made me the strong, determine and intelligent person I am today. She always says “there is no can’t there is only do.”

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in

my heart) i am never without it (anywhere

i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done

by only me is your doing, my darling)

i fear

no fate (for you are my fate, my sweet) i want

no world (for beautiful you are my world, my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows

higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)

Poem

Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_mom.html

3 thoughts on “Mom 

  1. Your admiration and love for your mother shines bright in this piece! This made me think about the depth and character of my own mother, another wonderful strong woman!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well written my Che, very touching, heart warming and it comes from the heart. Mommy, Leo & everyone in the family is so very proud of our Real Mei Mei 🔝😘💪❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

